Skip to content
May 21, 2007 / milesandhisfavorites

Miles’s Science Encyclopedia Part Six

Inventors and Their Inventions:

Have you ever wondered who put the light in lightbulb?  Or who put the auto in automobile?  Well, today we’re going to learn about that. 

Let’s start with an early and well-known inventor.  Presenting the guy who made the first moveable type and printing press to go with it — Johann Gutenberg!  This happened in 1438.  This guy made the first printed Bible.  He lived in Germany.  Little is known about this person, even his date of birth.

Now, here’s another to add to your collection.  This is the guy who put the light in lightning.  Introducing — Benjamin Franklin!  This guy invented bifocal spectacles.  In other words, a new kind of glasses.  We know this happened in 1784.  How about we learn how these work?  When people who wear these look down to read, they see through the near part of the lens, and when they look up, they see the far part of the lens.  This is a diagram of bifocal spectacles.

Here is another inventor that’s pretty popular.  Introducing the guy who put the light in light bulb — Thomas Alva Edison!  Now the light bulb was the most famous of all his inventions.  In fact, he patented, get this, over 1,000 inventions in his life.  Some of his other famous inventions are the phonograph and the kinetiscope.  This is Edison in his lab.

Takeoff! Here’s our final inventor.  Or should I say, inventors? 

These two boys made a really successful flight.  Introducing — The Wright Brothers!  In 1903, the Wright Brothers made their first successful flight in Kittyhawk, North Carolina.  Before they made the flight, they were just normal bike mechanics.  But if you just believe in yourself, you can do the best things. 

The Miles’s Science Encyclopedias were pretty educational.  Next time, we’re going to learn about me.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. crt / May 21 2007 1:38 pm

    Hi Miles,

    Wow! I really like your section on inventors. I live a few hours drive from Kitty Hawk, but I haven’t managed to get there– yet! Now that I’ve read your great blog I think I need to visit the spot of that historic flight.

    So– when are we going to see our fine blogger Miles inventing great stuff?

    Your friend from AAP
    crt

  2. Erika Chavez / May 23 2007 7:40 pm

    Miles,

    Very interesting. I didn’t know that Johann Gutenberg was such a mysterious fellow!

    I look forward to your next entry, where we will get to learn more about you.

    Sincerely,
    Erika

  3. Rachel / May 23 2007 9:51 pm

    Hi, Miles,

    I’m a friend of your mom’s from another blog, MotherTalkers. I think you chose some very interesting inventors to talk about – and a very interesting theme. After all, to read books, you need light and if you’re like me, you need glasses, too!

    Did you know there is a great museum in Orange, NJ? It’s Thomas Edison’s house and laboratory – all set up like when he lived there and worked there. It’s one of my favorite museums ever. You can see where he invented the light bulb, the phonograph and the first movie studio! It’s very, very cool.

    I like reading your blog and keep up the good work!

    Rachel

  4. Mondo / May 24 2007 1:44 am

    Hey Miles, unlike CRT I’ve been to Kitty Hawk. There is one right big sand dune perfect for launching gliders from. Plus it is really windy all the time. I’m sure you have gotten to see the Wright Flyer in the Air and Space Museum! I wish I still lived up near Washington. I love the Smithsonian. Which is your favorite museum? I’m partial to the Natural History museum myself. They have the elephant, the whale, the Hope Diamond and the flaven!

  5. aunt beth / May 24 2007 11:56 pm

    Miles, you don’t remember going to Kitty Hawk, you were little and so was cousin Gabi! But we have fun pictures of you guys at the beach at our house.
    keep up the excellent blog work!
    Aunt Beth

Trackbacks

  1. My Outer Banks Vacation Part Four « Miles And His Favorites

Leave a Reply

