Skip to content
May 24, 2007 / milesandhisfavorites

Operation: Ribbit

I have a new pet around the house and his name is Eggy.  It arrived just today! He is a tadpole.  The great thing about Eggy is that he lives in water his whole life, and when he grows his front arms, we can stop feeding him.  The reason for that is because his tail will be shrinking inside his body and that’s where he’ll get his nutrition.

 
Here is a picture of us preparing the tank. I am adding the blue sand to the bottom, and the little plant decoration is already added.  My little brother Eli is with me.


And here is a picture of Eggy himself. He is in the middle, next to the tree.  Eggy is a great pet and I hope he lasts a long time. We are also going to observe Eggy’s growth and we’ll keep doing blog entries on him so you can follow his progress.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. crt / May 24 2007 12:58 pm

    How neat! You know, when I first read the headline for your latest entry, I thought you had gotten a rabbit! heh heh heh

    So, what do you feed Eggy until his front arms start growing? I’ve never had a tadpole, but I’ve had lots of goldfish. Alas, it didn’t always end well with the fish. But my cats and dogs are doing great.

    I look forward to the further adventures of Eggy and Miles!

    Your friend from AAP,
    crt

  2. TriSec / May 24 2007 1:03 pm

    Hi Miles!

    I’ve gone and added you to my bloglines…so I’ll keep up with eggy and all the other kewl things going on in PA.

    I saw your posting on the Wright Bros. a few days back….keep flying, you never know where your wings might take you until you try!

  3. Sally / May 24 2007 10:36 pm

    Miles,
    Our science teacher let us pet tadpoles at school a few weeks ago. She did not tell us about the tail feeding the little frog. That is so cool. Thank you for sharing that with me. How long are frogs supposed to live? Thank you Miles. From Sally.

  4. aunt beth / May 24 2007 11:54 pm

    wow Miles, that’s something else you’ve got there. I can’t show this to your cousins, though, because they will want one too!!
    Love, Aunt Beth

  5. milesandhisfavorites / May 27 2007 3:10 pm

    Dear crt,

    We feed Eggy special tadpole food that we got when we first got the package.

    Eggy is not like normal goldfish. As I said in the entry I posted for you all, Eggy lives in water his whole life. In fact, if we give him special stuff, we can actually train him.

    Anyway, progress is going well and as soon as we get home from Grandma and Grandpa’s house, we’ll post about how he grows.

  6. milesandhisfavorites / May 27 2007 3:12 pm

    Dear Sally,

    As you said in your latest comment, you want to know about Eggy’s tail growing in and that giving him nutrition. I know your science teacher never mentioned that, but that’s because Eggy is a special kind of tadpole. He was raised in a scientific laboratory and mailed to us alive. Also, it said that in the instruction manual.

    Anyway, I bet Eggy’s fine at home!

  7. Sally / Jun 2 2007 3:19 pm

    Miles,
    How is your frog feeling today? Is it a frog yet?

Leave a Reply

