Skip to content
July 1, 2007 / milesandhisfavorites

My Outer Banks Vacation Part Two

Day Two was even more fun! We went and did everything.  We ran up sand dunes and flew kites.  We also went to the beach again. 

 First, we went to the beach.  Here is a photo of it below:

We saw some really cool sights.  We also collected some perfect shells. But we found something even more amazing!  To see what  is, answer this question below.

What kind of  creature is a crustacean, but not a lobster?

That’s right!  A crab!

Another place we went is Jockey’s Ridge State Park.  A national park is like Yellowstone National Park or the Everglades.  But this is a state park.  But before we did that we bought something that is cool, and we’re bringing it home.  Here is another question to guess what it is.

What flies, but is not a bird?

That’s right! A kite!  Ours looked like a dragon.  Here are two pictures of us flying it:

In case you didn’t know, here’s some quick info on Jockey’s Ridge.  First of all, the sand dune that we started our kite on is the biggest on the East Coast. Pennsylvania’s on the East Coast and so is Maryland.  Also, if you want to take flight yourself, we saw hangliders.  I really wanted to try it, but mommy said no (which is what I don’t like about her). We ended the day with a good Barbeque dinner at Sooey’s BBQ and Rib Shack. They gave us free frisbees with our meals!  I got popcorn shrimp and man was that good.  I ate every bite of it.  Even the tail! 

Stay tuned for tomorrow!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. crt / Jul 2 2007 1:54 am

    Ah! There is not much in life better than popcorn shrimp after a day on the beach!

    Did you know that the symbol for my astrological sign is the Crab? Some in my family say my temperament matches the stereotype about crabs– but I don’t think I’m crabby (for one thing, I have no claws!)

    I can’t wait for day three, have a great time in NC!

    Your friend from AAP,
    crt

  2. Grandma / Aug 14 2007 7:58 pm

    Hey I wanted to comment on the mythical stuff but could not find a place to do it so I am here again…Very cool and very scarey creatures…But you told me Squids are not really all that big anyway…Ha Ha
    See you soon
    LOVE
    G’Ma

Leave a Reply

