Skip to content
July 3, 2007 / milesandhisfavorites

My Outer Banks Vacation Part Three

Today I turned into a true fisherman, a true golfer, and even better, a true marine biologist.  Those are three of the adventures I encountered today.

First, in the morning, I went to do something I’d never done before.  Can you guess what it is?  Answer this riddle:

 In my process, you put stuff  on me, you also throw some string out. 

You know what it is now?  Yup– fishing!  That’s when I turned into a true fisherman.  Can you guess what our bait was?  Frozen squid!  Yup, I know that’s not the bait you expected, eh?  You probably expected worms or flies or some other fishing lures.  Grandpa and my cousin Gabi took me along.  Here is a picture of us at the fishing pier:

 Next, we went somewhere else with a lot of fish in it — the North Carolina Aquarium! Want to learn what I learned?  Take the short quiz below:

  1. What shipwreck went down near Hatteras Island?
  2. What stingray is the most popular kind?
  3. Do otters live in forest areas or wetland areas?

Answer Key:

  1. USS Monitor
  2. Atlantic Stingray
  3. Amazingly, river otters can live in both places.

Here is a picture of the Shipwreck of the Atlantic exhibit.  Note: It was during a special presentation.

Last but not least, I turned myself into a true golfer at a pirate golf course.  Arrghhh!!!!  Sorry, I was just doing a bad pirate accent. Anyway, we didn’t really sword fight and all that, we just got things into holes.  One part was a pirate prison and it was really creepy.  One time, smoke came out of it!  Here’s a picture of all three of us at the golf course — me, Eli and Gabi:

 

See you tomorrow!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Aunt Adrienne / Jul 4 2007 12:27 am

    Miles –
    It looks like you all are having so much fun!
    I went to visit Moqui today – he is doing fine.
    Say hi to Eli and everyone for me.

    Love,
    Aunt Adrienne

  2. Mondo's Mom / Jul 4 2007 1:36 am

    I was amazed to know that any kind of stingray was *popular*! Outer Banks Vacations are the greatest – enjoy.

  3. crt / Jul 4 2007 1:46 am

    Wow Miles, what a day!

    The last time I went fishing in Florida I *caught* a stingray! Needless to say, my dad took it off the hook VERY carefully.

    Keep on rockin’
    Your friend from AAP,
    crt

  4. TriSec / Jul 4 2007 1:59 am

    Ah, what fun!

    I’ve always wanted to visit the outer banks….will you be going to Kill Devil Hills?

  5. milesandhisfavorites / Jul 4 2007 12:43 pm

    Dear TriSec,
    Believe it or not, we actually went to Kill Devil Hills just yesterday. We went to the Wright Brothers Memorial for a while.

    Day Four’s entry, which is going to be put up today, is going to include information about that. We’re going to post it later. See you soon.

    Miles

Leave a Reply

