Skip to content
September 29, 2007 / milesandhisfavorites

5K!

I ran my very first 5K today!  The course was in a big circle.  We had time chips strapped to our ankles that had sensors that sensed the start and finish lines.  They knew when to start and stop with that. 

Here’s a picture of me at the end of the race:

This was  The Celtic Classic 5K.  It was supposed to be to celebrate Celtic Fest.  Celtic Fest is a festival we have every year that lasts three days.  There were two bridges we had to cross.  We passed some good landmarks, like the library and Sand Island.  There was a water stop that we got water from.  Oh, I forgot to tell you how far a 5K is.  A 5K is 3.1 miles.  It is also 5 kilometers. 

I was very tired at the end of the race but I was proud of myself .  It’s about time you learned how to run a 5K. 

Running Guide

Running is very good exercise for you.  Here are some things you should know.  First of all, at water stops you need to focus on the cup of water that the person is holding.  When you are done drinking the water, you should either throw it away in a trash can or if there is no trash can throw it down.  Volunteers will probably clean up after you.  Next, you should know about timing chips.  They can either be tied into your shoelaces or, if they have a special velcro band, tie them around your ankle.  Finally, you should know about the awards they give out.  They give out trophies, ribbons and medals. 

 Thank you for reading this guide.  Have a great race!

Now it’s time to focus on my perspective of the run.  I was swift and agile but I was still tired at the end.  I felt very proud of myself after I finally crossed the finish line after 42 minutes.  I saw some of my friends — and my yoga teacher!  Plus Daddy and Eli. 

See you next time when we check out some of the weirdest stuff on the planet.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Merry / Sep 29 2007 6:32 pm

    Dear Miles..Wow..and I did not even know that you were running today..Hmm, if I could have put on a pair of wings, I would have flown across the country to cheer you on. Congratulations..You will always be a winner in my eyes.

    Merry

  2. Sally / Sep 29 2007 6:41 pm

    My daddy is going to try to run a half marathon. I think that it is almost 13 miles or something like that. Wow, you ran far all by yourself. I think I will try that sometime.
    Sally

  3. crt / Sep 29 2007 9:26 pm

    Way to go Miles! Back in the day I used to racewalk 5k’s, half-marathons and I even did a marathon once.

    Do you think you might want to try and run a marathon someday?

    Your friend at AAP,
    crt

  4. Rachel / Sep 30 2007 8:56 pm

    Hi Miles! Well done! I’m very impressed that you have run a 5k, and I’m glad you enjoyed yourself. High fives from your friends in Melboune, Rachel and Jessica

Leave a Reply

