Skip to content
March 14, 2010 / milesandhisfavorites

Terrin Owstro And The Meteor Sword

Just when I was getting used to my seventh grade year in school, I was attacked-again for the second time at school.  I was riding the bus home, as usual.  The school bully, Tera Thorn, had moved up a notch on the totem pole after Taurus Laze mysteriously disappeared.  But then again, who would believe that he turned into a dinosaur and was blown to shreds.  Tera was in the seat behind me.  She snuck up next to my ear and screamed so loud my ears popped.  But it wasn’t really a scream.  It was more like a screech, like a bird.  Suddenly, I looked over my shoulder and she started to change rapidly.  Her head lengthened and turned deep pink.  Her mouth turned gray and hardened like a beak.  Her skin formed into a mass of tattoos-no wait, feathers.  Her arms became deeper and became massive wings.  When the transformation was done, me and everyone on the bus were gaping at a vulture with a 10-foot wingspan.  Tera Thorn had become a Teratornis.

Teratornis

I slowly climbed up onto the seat in front of me, and began creeping up the aisle.  Unfortunately for me, Tera had the vision of a hawk, and she lifted off from the back of the seat, ripping the brown leather with her six-inch talons.  She flew a few feet above the seats, but my keen instinct for paleontology told me she had a weakness.  She had one target-me, and had her telescopic eyes that could count zits on someone’s nose from fifty feet in the air.  After she locked her sights on me, she also locked my location, so she would go there once she knew what she was after.  After processing this information for about half a second, I did something very smart-I ducked fast.  She flew above me and slammed into a list of rules at the front of the bus.  “What the heck?!” yelled the driver.  Tera got up again and flew toward me.  I whipped out my pterosaur skull cast and yelled “Pterosaurae!” as loud as I could.  Dozens of small Anurognathus flew from the mouth and attacked the Teratornis.  Unfortunately, she slashed at the winged pirahnas and they dissolved into golden light and retreated into the pterosaur skull.  She flew at me again and I thought I was done for, but at that moment, a huge anaconda burst through a window and squeezed tightly around Tera Thorn.  She managed a choked screech, and exploded into dust and feathers.  The snake, meanwhile, reared up and turned into a man in his twenties with brown hair and glasses.  “Well,” he said.  “That was fun.”

Mr. Frazer seemed to notice the fact that we were being looked at by three dozen middle schoolers, and he snapped his fingers.  I felt my jeans getting wet, and I looked down to see that I was knee deep in murky water that had a hint of green mixed in with gray.  The kids turned into cypress trees and clusters of mangroves, and the gray metal on the roof turned into a blue sky, complete with clouds.  What was once a normal school bus had turned into a thick swamp in less than a minute.  As a finishing touch, a wooden shack sprung up about a hundred feet away.  It was on short stilts, like they have in New Orleans.  A door opened, and out stepped a man.  He was dressed in overalls and a straw hat, and was caked with mud.  He chewed on a piece of straw.  “Now, Titanus, what are you doing so far from camp?  Buck Tooth Swamp is awful messy for a professor like you, eh?” he said.  Then, he hunched forward and grew thick, shaggy brown fur and a pair of buck teeth the size of Monoploly money.  He was, basically, a creature that was half bear-half beaver.  At Camp Paleo, we call them Diptorodon.  The Diptorodon sunk into the mud slowly, and ten seconds later, he had completely disappeared into the murky water.  Then, Titanus snapped his fingers again, and Buck Tooth Swamp melted into camp.  The sky looked gray, and everyone was walking around, concerned.  The worst part was that the therizinosaur cabin (the campers there have names that you really can’t pronounce), with an archway made of 20-foot claws like broadswords, was half trampled.

“What the Heredontosaurus happened to the therizinosaur cabin?” I asked.  “There was an Amargasaurus stampede in the south side of the woods, and it got a little out of hand.  No worries, we took care of it, but the raptor cabin is providing shelter for Alexa Russ and Erik O.  Unfortunately, there are still a few Amargasaurus lingering around the lake, so we’re on constant lookout.” replied Titanus.  Just then, a loud roaring came from the direction of the lake.  My paleontology instinct told me it wasn’t a predator.  More of a small sauropod.  Amargasaurus.  Then, from behind the boathouse (we have a pretty big boathouse) came a massive dinosaur.  It was 20 feet long and 15 feet high.  It had a neck as long as a coffee table, and three foot spines lining the upper part of it.  The spines supported flaps of skin that were at least an inch thick.  It was an Amargasaurus (ever notice how many As are in that name?).

Amargasaurus

 I took out my pterosaur skull and unleashed the full Anurognathus swarm on the dinosaur.  The creatures tried, but they couldn’t penetrate the Amaragasaurus’s thick skin, so I summoned them back.  Then, I knew there was one thing I could do.  I thought “Ornithocheirus, come to me!” and one actually did.  It lunged for the space between the two rows of neck spines, and it hit dead-on.  The Amargasaurus trembled and fell, dead.  It then turned golden and fell into dust.  The dust flew away and the camp was saved for now.

Ornithocheirus

 Then, I heard a loud slice cut the awed silence.  Then, a roar that was definetly a carnivore, and a big one too.  The camp dining area suddenly was crushed by a group of feet the size of sofas.  I looked up, and saw a massive body, connected to a familiar head.  I had read about these giants in the camp library.  “Giganotosaurus!” I yelled.

It was true.  The camp was under attack by 30-foot long monsters that could snap you in two quicker than you could scream.  Everyone came running.  We took out any weapons we had.  I saw a ceratopsian camper named Cece Tentro take out a bony ring, then touched the top of it.  Out sprung a massive Triceratops skull that she began to smash at one of the Giganotosaurus’s faces.  Then, I had the Council Of Cabins, a sort of government made up of the oldest kids in each cabin, take out their summoning weapons.  Monty Cerops took out a small ceratopsian horn and slashed it like a sword.  Then, he tossed it on the ground.  It grew until it was the horn of a fully grown Montanoceratops.  The creature resembled the Protoceratops that I had encountered briefly in the woods, but it was larger.  At any rate, It managed to crush the foot of the Giganotosaurus pack’s alpha male.  The creature roared so loud, I’ll bet that they could hear it in Los Angeles.  Then, it fell.  Funny thing about bipedal creatures that are bigger than T-Rex-when they fall, their weight crushes them.  Without a leader, the remaining five Giganotosaurus scattered into the woods.  Although we won that fight, that was half a dozen Giganotosaurus.  Those predators are rare anywhere, much less Camp Paleo.  Then, we heard a voice that could make a Seismosaurus tremble.  “Ah, you have defeated my little army.  Well, soon enough, your so-called forces will fall.  And yes, this is Erik O.”

Whoa, whoa, whoa!  Hold the phone!  Erik O from the therizinosaur cabin?  That was impossible.  Not even claws like broadswords could drive a pack of Giganotosaurus from wherever they came from!  He had to have another weapon.  “How did I do it, you might be wondering?  Why do you think I spent so much time in the Fossil Lab this past spring?” said Erik O.  Come to think of it, he was going to the Fossil Lab longer than most of us.  “I was on vacation, a cruise in the Yucatan Peninsula.  When we made a quick supply run, I snuck off the boat and investigated the shoreline.  Sure enough, I found rock fragments.  These weren’t any fragments, though.  These were the fragments of the meteor that supposedly killed the entire dynasty of the Mezezoic!  Some of the dinosaurs were wiped out, of course.  It was just enough to chase off anything prehistoric, hence the Amargasaurus stampede and the Giganotosaurus attack.  And, in less than 24 hours, I will have enough power to rule the world!”

“But how could you correctly harness that power?” I had the nerve to call out.  “Simple.” said Erik O.  “All of that time spent in the Fossil Lab was used to create the Meteor Sword!”  And with that, he unsheathed a jet black sword that was five feet long.  “I had enough meteor fragments to forge a weapon that could expertly control any prehistoric creature!  Even the worst dinosaurs shall bow down to me soon enough!”  I knew that all of our weapons and powers couldn’t stop Erik O alone, but I had a crazy idea.  “Hey, Erik!” I yelled.  “Just to give us a little show of your Meteor Sword, why don’t you strike on of us down!  Go ahead, I volunteer!”  When he swung his sword back, I used some of my fossil polish from the camp store to cause a glint.  Startled, he pushed his sword a little too far.  The blade struck the very center of his back, and Erik O howled in pain.  See, if he was closest to a dinosaur, he could be harmed by a meteor weapon.  The ex-camper fell to his knees, and he died.  Despite the loss, we managed to celebrate the worst threat to the prehistoric world seen in a thousand years being brought down.  After a quick burial, the sauropod campers used their massive powers to destroy the Meteor Sword, and a group of prehistoric bird campers took an Ornithocheirus transport to the Yucatan Peninsula to seek out and return any meteor fragments.  I, meanwhile, did a little research in the library on Giganotosaurus.  I learned that they were native to Argentina, so Erik O had come a long way.  After that, I did more research on the computer about-guess what-school bus insurance.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

