Skip to content
April 15, 2010 / milesandhisfavorites

Blackspace: The Mudcruzzian Worm Cave

Ah, yes, the Mudcruzzian Worms.  One of the strangest adventures I’ve ever been on.  You see, it was harvest season, and our crops were the most delicate at that time of year.  All of those casabas, durians and screw pines were at risk.  Then, the unthinkable happened-a patch of garden disappeared (you saw that coming, didn’t you?).  All that was left was a hole that was five feet wide.  If we didn’t find the cropnapper, we could starve through the cold winter.  Then we would get attacked by Stalactite Yetis (did I mention Blackspace is a system of caves?).  The nearest city was Glitintran, which was across the Whister Plains.  Not good.

So I decided to look into this hole.  No, really, I looked into it.  I took the bone of a Wickstrung Goozle and turned it into a temporary torch.  Then, I tossed down a very long Whowatif skin and tossed it down the hole to make a slide.  Finally, with a loud “Geronimo!” I flew down the slide into a complex system of caves.  After a few minutes of near-free falling through the hole, I entered a huge cave twice the size of Driggit.  There were red, blue and green crystals everywhere, even forming chutes I could slide through!  Then, I saw my first Mudcruzzian Worm.  It was twenty feet long, five feet wide, and had a disgusting mouth that took up the whole front of the creature!  Therefore, their eyes were on stalks that were about three feet high and extended above their heads.  It was then that I realized that there were dozens of them, and they started to surround me.

Then, I remembered my Wickstrung Goozle torch.  I tossed it at the worms, and their mouths sparked and burned, just like a lit fuse.  I jumped back, and ran to the Whowhatif skin.  Despite the fact that it makes a good slide, if it’s touched twice, it wrinkles, which makes great handholds.  After scrambling up the skin, I paid the Garden Of Magic cave a visit, and gathered enough casabas, durians and screw pines to make up for the lost garden.  I told the villagers of Driggit about my discovery, and we all quickly tossed Wickstrung Goozle torches down the tunnel to destroy the cave.  Two weeks later, the harvest finished, and we had enough food to last for about six months, which was about twice what we needed, so that was good.  But something tells me that this won’t be the last harvest emergency.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. limewire / Apr 30 2010 8:47 am

    shoot nice story man.

Leave a Reply

