Skip to content
January 1, 2013 / milesandhisfavorites

Why I Love The Tribe Part One: Introduction

I love reviewing and critiquing things, but sometimes, I don’t want to rate anything, and I just want to talk about it.  This is one of those occasions.  So without further ado, this is why I love The Tribe!  Note: this is the first part of a three-part series about why I love this show so much.

The_tribe

The Tribe was a post-apocalyptic soap opera from New Zealand.  In fact, my love for the show is what led me to my love and fascination with New Zealand.  The show lasted from 1999 to 2003, and is considered to be a cult classic.  The show takes place after a global pandemic has killed off everyone over the age of eighteen, leaving only the youth of the world to rebuild civilization.  However, civilization isn’t exactly the word for what’s happening in one particular city and the surrounding area.  The survivors have formed various tribes, and constantly fight to survive and rule the city.  Caught in the middle is a bunch of ragtag kids and teens who dub themselves the Mall Rats, and who face everything from slavers to religious fanatics to freaking virtual reality.  Point is, it was an awesome series.  However, this is only an introduction to the series.  Next time, I’ll go through the first episode, and after that, some final thoughts on just why I love this show.  Until then, keep the dream alive, and happy new year!

Leave a Reply

