Skip to content
June 24, 2013 / milesandhisfavorites

18 Metro Rides Day 1: I Am Leslie

So, here I am.  In Washington D.C..  Volunteering as a junior class aide at the National Zoo.  For two weeks.  And on the very first day, as many of you may know, we had an animal escape (Or as we zoo volunteers say, Code Green, or alternatively, THE TIGER’S OUT FREAKING RUN!!!!!!!!!).  Specifically, Rusty the red panda, who was found about a mile away.  So on the very first day, an animal gets out.  This is an interesting omen.

I, along with a former enrichment teacher from a private school in the D.C. area that’s second only to Sidwell and two girls older than me who shall be known as H and A for their safety, am in charge of about maybe fifteen second and third graders who get to do crafts and see animals related to The Lion King.  So, anyway, the first day went pretty well, except for me forgetting to bring home my spare red shirt.  No, really.  We’re redshirts.  I am Lieutenant Leslie.  But anyway, we did some crafts, watched some of The Lion King 1 1/2 over lunch, and I chatted with my fellow class aides, H and A.  Also, I’m concerned over one of the kids (who I shall call H) who might be getting too attached to me, as well as a kid who I will call M, who is probably going to be the biggest pain in the group.  But overall, who knows what the next four days (and the four days next week where I’ll be volunteering) will hold!

P.S. In case you’re wondering about the title, I’ll be volunteering for nine days, which means I’ll be taking 18 Metro rides, 17 of which will be solo.  I am rather nervous about this.

Leave a Reply

