Skip to content
June 25, 2013 / milesandhisfavorites

18 Metro Rides Day 2: Khal Raggat

Today was far less eventful than yesterday’s nationally syndicated red panda escape, but it was BLAZING HOT.  And a vending machine ate my dollar.  And I was forced to sit with a group of six-to-eight-year-olds listening to a subtitled version of “Hakuna Matata”, which is a surprisingly annoying phrase.

But first, a word on the title.  As most of you probably know, I’m a huge fan of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series.  In fact, today I brought with me the fifth book in the series, A Dance With Dragons, and I’ve gotten almost two hundred pages in.  So, in the series, there’s a culture of nomadic warlords called the Dothraki, and in their language, the phrase khal raggat translates out to cart king.  For most of today (most of which was spent outside), I pushed around the cart that carries our group’s lunchboxes and backpacks.  It maneuvers like an aircraft carrier and, like all nimble wheeled devices, is potentially dangerous when going even the slightest bit downhill (which is a LOT of the zoo).  Therefore, I styled myself The Cart King.  Which is basically an insult to the Dothraki, but hey, it’s a reference to something I like.

Anyway, it was even hotter than yesterday, although there was a lot of breeze, so it was tolerable most of the time.  During lunch, we finished watching that prequel to The Lion King, which had a subtitled singalong version of Hakuna Matata, one of the most obnoxious songs ever written.  Not to mention that when I went out to get a Coke, the vending machine decided that even though I didn’t know I didn’t have enough money, I couldn’t get a refund.  *sigh*  Remind me to try a human vendor next time.  After all, there I get a discount.

Leave a Reply

