Skip to content
October 21, 2013 / milesandhisfavorites

The Walking Review: Infected

About an hour before the show…

So, just to recap, and yes, SPOILER ALERT: In the eight months or so since the prison accepted the Woodbury people, the prison has turned into a thriving farming community.  On a supply run, Beth’s boyfriend gets killed.  Rick finds a weird woman in the forest who turns out to be crazy and suicidal and obsessed with Zimbabwe marble sculptures.  And, most importantly, Patrick, a kid played by Phineas Flynn-Fletcher and who looks quite a bit like me, gets sick on something and dies, reanimating as a walker.

Mo-om!  Phineas and Ferb ate everyone!

And with that said, let us begin!

After the show…

Well, that was… maddeningly good!  In that the episode had me conflicted.  Let’s start out with what happens, and yeah, I’m not going to be a pansy and try to avoid spoilers.  SPOILERS YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.  D Block in the prison is attacked by Walker Patrick, and several people die, including the father of the two Walker Namer girls.  That leads to a somewhat heartbreaking scene with Carol knifing the guy’s brain in front of them.  And that’s where the internal conflict starts.

One of the strengths of the episode, for me at least, is how torn I am about Carol.  I mean, I was pretty neutral on her for the most part, but I really didn’t like her in this episode.  Yes, it’s important to know how to handle weapons in the apocalypse, but she was keeping secrets about it and did those lessons without parental consent.  And then she wants Carl to help cover it up!  Not cool!

On the other hand, more fun than P.E.

 Another good part was that it kept me guessing.  A lot.  Most notably at the very end of the episode.  I knew Karen was a goner at the cold open, but… that last bit was just plain odd.  And of course, who was hanging the mice in the cold open?  My guess?  The Governor, or some outside force to be reckoned with.  I don’t buy into the idea that it was the Walker Namers.  Nobody could be THAT stupid.  Except maybe two little kids in the zombie apocalypse.  I’m talking about Ben and Billy here.

Finally, what is this plague that’s going around?  According to Twitter, the prison might be facing a case of H1NOVER9000 (swine flu with tired meme I put it for my own pleasure), and it’s pretty safe to say that most everybody is going to die of it at some point.  It’s almost certainly in the water, which is something we all require to survive, so, yeah.  Also, I read from an accredited fan source that Judith might be the next victim.  NOT.  JUDITH.  PLEASE I AM BEGGING YOU.  DON’T SINK THAT LOW.

All in all, this was a pretty great episode, possibly superior to its predecessor.  I give Infected a solid 9.  It had good performances from a lot of people, kept me hooked, and had me guessing every second of the way.

Seemed like a fitting cover.

Leave a Reply

